Learning Blog 12b:Teach your Children Well

Imagine the Crosby, Stills, and Nash song playing while you read this post.

I am a parent of two children who are just entering the education system. So the challenge this week has been not to jump up and down repeatedly on my soapbox after watching the  Frontline special Digital Nation. My issue is of course being a parent and thinking deeply about the future my kids education. One of my concerns is the continuing emphasis on “educating them to be good workers”. I like to feel I’m not too revolutionary about this, and I do understand the importance of education (obviously since I’m at St. Kate’s). But I look at this more from a “the importance of lifelong learning” way of thinking. So yes, it’s important to engage in learning on a deep level. But whatever happened to pursuing an idea, simply for the thrill of intellectuall pursuit? Where do the arts fit into all of this? What if they don’t want to be “a future worker,” but a “future leader”?

So among the other issues I have with creating “a digital nation,”(see post 12a), I think this is one that I will be thinking about beyond this class. I feel like librarians are at their core also teachers, and if I really value a commitment to life long learning, than trying to figure out the best way to educate others is part of the territory. And if I put my money where my mouth is, that means finding ways ways of blending the advantages of technology with the advantages of other educational tools. So I guess that means I’ve got my work cut out for me. . .

Leave a Reply

